Louis GOLDFORD is a composer of acoustic and mixed music whose works often draw inspiration from auditory illusion, transcription, and psychoanalysis. Recent performances include those by the Talea Ensemble, Yarn/Wire, the JACK QuartetEnsemble Dal Niente, Ensemble Modelo62, the Meitar Ensemble, and Rage Thormbones. In 2019 Louis completed his Cursus in computer music composition at IRCAM, supported by the Fulbright Commission in France. He was concurrently a Laureate in Music Composition and resident composer of the Cité internationale des arts in Paris. Upcoming engagements include new pieces for LongleashFonema Consort, and residencies at the Festival d’Aix-en-Provence and the Académie Voix Nouvelles at Royaumont.

Louis was named the winner of the 2017 Suzhou (Chou’s) Composition Commission. His works have been featured at the Northwestern University New Music Conference (NUNC!2), the International Computer Music Conference (ICMC 2015/2016), June in Buffalo, Contemporary Encounters with Meitar Ensemble (CEME) and with members of Ensemble Modern in Tel Aviv, the Valencia International Performance Academy and Festival (VIPA) in Spain, the Society for Electroacoustic Music in the United States National Conference (SEAMUS), the Summer Institute for Contemporary Performance Practice (SICPP) at New England Conservatory, the Composit New Music Festival in Italy, and the New York City Electro-Acoustic Music Festival (NYCEMF). Louis has also performed as a saxophonist in Taiwan, Poland, and the United States. His work Uncanny Valley (2014) for large orchestra was given Honorable Mentions at the 2017 Minnesota Orchestra Composers Institute and the 2015 American Composers Orchestra / Underwood New Music Readings, and in 2014 Louis was the recipient of a Dean’s Prize in Music Composition at Indiana University. Louis completed the Computer Music Workshop (Atelier d’informatique musicale) while studying at the IRCAM Académie and festival ManiFESTE. He was also a finalist in the 2013 ASCAP Morton Gould Young Composer Awards for his Eric, Rising (2012) for orchestra.

Louis is currently a Dean’s Fellow at Columbia University, where he studies with Georg Friedrich Haas, Zosha Di CastriBrad GartonGeorge Lewis, and Fred Lerdahl.

View a current CV / List of Works

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s